Return to Directory

A. G. Unil Perera

Professor    Regents’ Professor of Physics; Director of the Laboratory for the Study of Interaction of Radiation with Matter (IRML)
Education

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, April 1987
M.S., University of Pittsburgh, 1983
B.S. (Physics – First Class Honors) University of Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1981

Biography

Dr. Perera obtained his BS in Physics (First Class Honors) from the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka and his MS and PhD from the University of Pittsburgh. He is presently a Regents’ Professor of physics at the Georgia State University. He develops novel photon detectors spanning the Ultraviolet to Terahertz range and apply Infrared Techniques for the detection of diseases. He has several patents, published over 160 refereed articles, and edited several books and a member of the Editorial board of the IEEE journal of the Electron Device Society. He is a Life Fellow of both the APS and SPIE, and a Fellow of the IEEE.

Collaborators

GSU
Dr. Vadym Apalkov
 Assistant Professor
 Department of Physics and Astronomy
 Tel: 404-651-1245
Email: vapalkov@gsu.edu

Dr. Gennady Cymbalyuk
 Assistant Professor
 Department of Physics and Astronomy
 Tel: 404-651-2841
Email: gcym@phy-astr.gsu.edu

Dr. Nikolaus Dietz
Associate Professor
 Department of Physics and Astronomy
 Tel: 404-463-9617/651-2279
Email: ndietz@gsu.edu

Dr. Gary Hastings
Associate Professor
 Department of Physics and Astronomy
 Tel: 404-651-0748
Email: ghastings@gsu.edu

Dr. Brian Thoms
 Associate Professor
 Department of Physics and Astronomy
 Tel: 404-651-2953
Email: bthoms@gsu.edu

Dr. Julia Hilliard
 Professor Eminent Scholar / Assoc Dir-Adm
 Department of Biology
 Tel: 404-413-6560
Email: jhilliard@gsu.edu

Dr. Maged M. Henary
 Assistant Professor 
 Department of Chemistry 
 Tel: 404-413-5566
Email: mhenary1@gsu.edu
CNR -IMM
Dr. Giovanna Trevisi
Parco delle Scienze – 37/A
43010 Fontanini, Parma
Italy
tel: +39 0521 269236
fax: +39 0521 269206
e-mail: trevisi@imem.cnr.it
NRC-CNRC
Dr. H. C. Liu
Quantum Devices Group Leader
Principal Research Officer
Institute for Microstructural Sciences
National Research Council
Building M-50, 1200 Montreal Road
Ottawa K1A 0R6
Canada
Tel: 613-993-3895
Fax: 990 0202
Email: h.c.liu@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

UM
Dr. P. Bhattacharya
 Professor
 Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS)
 University of Michigan
 2306 EECS Building
 1301 Beal Avenue
 Ann Arbor, MI 48109
 Tel: 734-763-6678
 Email: pkb@eecs.umich.edu

Soreq NRC
Dr. Yossi Paltiel
Solid State Physics Group
Electro-Optics Division
Tel: 972-8-9434629
Fax: 972-8-9434503
Email: Paltiel@soreq.gov.il
IFS
Dr. K. Tennakone
Director
Institute of Fundamental Studies
Kandy, Sri-Lanka
Email: ifs@ifs.ac.lk

GTech
Dr. Ian Ferguson
Professor
College of Engineering, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Tel: 404-385-2885
Email: ian.ferguson@ece.gatech.edu

UNM
Dr. Sanjay Krishna
Associate Professor
Center for High Technology Materials (ECE Dept), University of New Mexico
1313, Goddard Street SE, MSC04 2710 Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone: (505) 272 7892 Fax: (505) 272 7801
Email: skrishna@chtm.unm.edu
McGill
Dr. Zetian Mi
Assistant Professor
William Dawson Scholar, and Hydro-Quebec Nano-Engineering Scholar
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering McGill University
3480 University Street, Montreal Quebec, Canada
Phone: 514 398 7114 Fax: 514 398 4470
Email: zetian.mi@mcgill.ca
IIT
Dr. Subhananda Chakrabarti
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Electrical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Powal, Mumbai 400 076, Maharashtra, India
Phone: 91-22-2576-7421
Email: subho@ee.iitb.ac.in